Drayton Nights – 4

Pulp – Different Class

So we are back again with the Spring/Summer season of the Record Player and, officially, the most enjoyable way to spend a Thursday evening.  Barring Winona Ryder and a tub of Nutella admittedly.

Steve has lined up a great selection of LPs to showcase and once again the wonderful Tyneside Cinema plays host.  First disc of the season was suggested by my work colleague Vicky who selected Pulp’s Different Class as a piece of music we should all become acquainted with.

Bruce gets in on the act again

Bruce gets in on the act again

It has to be said that the 90s were a bit of a musical desert for me.  I never bought into Grunge or Brit Pop and spent most of the decade looking back to the 60s and 70s for my musical entertainment.  So, with the exceptions of the well know singles Disco 2000 and Common People, I’d never previously heard any of the music on offer.  To be frank I didn’t expect much from it.

Well blow me.  What a cracking LP this is.  The afore mentioned single were, to me, the weakest tracks on offer.  I particularly enjoyed the disturbing I Spy where, to my ear, Jarvis Cocker evokes his inner Alex Harvey for his vocal delivery at times.  Other highlights came in the shape of Something Changed and Underwear.  In truth I think I was so shocked at how much I actually enjoyed this that I didn’t really take it all in.  I certainly won’t be without it in my collection for long.

A cracking start to the new season, good music and great company.  Like I said Thursday nights just don’t get better.

We don’t want no trouble, we just want the right to be different. That’s all.

Recommended drink:  Well given that it is Record Store Day tomorrow how about a beer specially brewed for the occasion – Revolutions  Brewing Co, Sid ‘n’ Nancy a spirited 6.9% IPA.

Leave a comment