Tuesdays Tune – 11

Lynyrd Skynyrd – That Smell

Given the title of yesterday’s post there was no other song this could have been really.

Lynyrd Skynyrd’s finest moment in my opinion.  This song really resonates with me.  Not in a “it brings back memories of my fight against drugs” kind of way, I’ve thankfully never had to deal with that, but in a time and a place way. Unusually for a memory from my youth, this one involves a girl.  A rare occurrence let me tell you.

In a scene reminiscent of the Gregory’s Girl dancing scene it just involved lying on our backs, talking nonsense and listen to chilled music, nothing more.  This was me we are talking about after all.  Whilst I’d heard Free Bird prior to this, who hadn’t? I’d never listened to one of their LPs in full before.  I remember she told me the story of how half the band had died in an air crash just weeks after the LP’s release and how much she regretted that they wouldn’t make new music again.  I remember the way my T-shirt rucked up and dug into my shoulder blades.  I remember that smell.

Leave a Reply

