Tuesday’s Tune – 10

A couple of weeks ago I had the pleasure once again of seeing Neil Finn in concert, this time at the Sage Gateshead. I’ve lost track of the number of times I’ve seen him play either solo, with his brother Tim or as part of Crowded House but each and every time has been a joy.  The video above shows the end of the gig, some two and half hours after he started and way past the curfew for the venue.  He and the rest of the band seemed to be enjoying themselves as much as the audience and didn’t want to stop playing.  It was a magical night.

I heartily recommend you hunt out Ermintrude Jay’s other videos of the gig on YouTube.  Actually no, I’ll make it easier for you.  You can find all 9 here, so no excuses for not looking.

I can’t recommend him highly enough and he comes alive in the live setting.  I’ve never known an artist have as close a relationship with his audience.  The banter alone is worth the price of admission.  If you ever get the chance to catch him live please do so, you won’t regret it.

Recommended Drink:  Let’s stick to the New Zealand theme and a gorgeous Cloudy Bay Pelorus Brut.  Like Neil it works well by itself and seems celebratory enough.

2 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Tune – 10

  1. Hey – I was there too – this was my freinds request and Neil finished the show with my request for Better be home soon – was an amazing night! More Finn in my rambles if you are ever passing! Cheers J

    • Thanks for the follow and glad I could help you relive great memories. I’ll be sure to drop by your gaff.

Leave a Reply

